Call for Proposals: Journal for the History of Knowledge, Special Issue Fall 2020 (Deadline: 15 January 2019)

27 november 2018

The Journal for the History of Knowledge, to be launched in 2020, will include an annual special issue, compiled by guest editors, which explores a theme central to its scope (see below). We welcome proposals which problematize and historicize the nature of (different kinds of) knowledge, its boundaries, practices, hierarchies, and/or institutionalization.

We are currently accepting proposals for the Fall 2020 Special Issue. Proposals should contain the following:

  • A description of the proposed theme (1500-2000 words) highlighting its significance for the history of knowledge
  • A table of contents (typically 8-12 articles, more is negotiable)
  • Abstracts of the articles
  • Two-page CVs of the editors; short bios of the contributors
  • An outline of the production process up to manuscript submission. All manuscripts must be submitted to the journal by Summer 2019.

Please send your proposal to all three editors: Sven Dupré (; Ilja Nieuwland ( and Geert Somsen (

  • Proposal deadline: 15 January 2019
  • Notification of acceptance: 15 February 2019

After submission, all manuscripts will go through a process of peer-review, author’s revisions, and copy-editing. JHoK is an Open Access journal, in principle at no charge to the authors.


JHoK is devoted to the history of knowledge in its broadest sense. This includes the study of science, but also of indigenous, artisanal and other types of knowledge, often seen as weaker than science, as well as the history of knowledge developed in the humanities and social sciences. Special attention is paid to interactions and processes of demarcation between science and other forms of knowledge. Contributions may deal with the history of concepts of knowledge, the study of knowledge making practices and institutions and sites of knowledge production, adjudication and legitimation (including universities). Contributions which highlight the relevance of the history of knowledge to current policy concerns (for example, by historicizing and problematizing concepts such as the knowledge society) are particularly welcome. The journal is explicitly global in scope. It offers a platform for publications that concern western and non-western cases, that compare western and non-western knowledge making practices or that show the connections between concepts and practices of knowledge in different parts of the globe.

Its time-span is antiquity to the present.

PDF Version

A PDF version of this call for papers may be downloaded here.


JHoK is the official journal of Gewina, the Belgian-Dutch Society for History of Science and Universities. It is published by Ubiquity Press, London. The journal is co-sponsored by:

  • The Descartes Centre for the History and Philosophy of the Sciences and the Humanities
  • The Huygens ING, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • The Vossius Centre for the History of Humanities and Sciences
  • The Stevin Centre for History of Science and Humanities


  • Sven Dupré (Utrecht University / University of Amsterdam)
  • Ilja Nieuwland (Huygens ING, Amsterdam, Managing Editor)
  • Geert Somsen (Maastricht University)

Editorial Board

  • Charlotte Bigg (Centre Alexandre Koyré, Paris)
  • Fokko Jan Dijksterhuis (University of Twente / Stevin Centre Amsterdam)
  • Marwa Elshakry (Columbia University, New York)
  • Marco Formisano (Ghent University)
  • Anna Grasskamp (Hong Kong Baptist University)
  • Anke te Heesen (Humboldt University, Berlin)
  • Fabian Krämer (Ludwig Maximilian University, München)
  • Kerstin von der Krone (German Historical Institute, Washington DC)
  • Joep Leerssen (University of Amsterdam)
  • Eugenia Lean (Columbia University, New York)
  • Elaine Leong (MPIWG Berlin / University College London)
  • Raz Chen Morris (Hebrew University, Jerusalem)
  • Projit Mukharji (University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia)
  • Martin Mulsow (University of Erfurt)
  • Carla Nappi (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Irina Podgorny (National University, La Plata)
  • Irene van Renswoude (Huygens ING, Amsterdam)
  • Willemijn Ruberg (Utrecht University)
  • Philipp Sarasin (University of Zurich)
  • John Tresch (Warburg Institute, University of London)
  • Stéphane Van Damme (European University Institute, Florence)
  • Fernando Vidal (Autonomous University of Barcelona)
  • Sven Widmalm (Uppsala University)
  • Andrew Zimmerman (George Washington University, Washington DC)